No Hit Records

My Account

0 items
All orders containing over 5 items receive FREE shipping within the UK.


VA - Holding Things Together ~ The Merle Haggard Songbook - ACE
[merle songbo]

Various - Holding Things Together ~ The Merle Haggard Songbook - ACE CD
Universally known to his fans and peers as ‘Hag’, the late Merle Haggard was one of the prime exponents of the ‘Bakersfield Sound’, developed in the early 60s as an alternative to the increasingly smooth and homogenised country music that was coming out of Nashville.
As well as having one of the most distinctive and memorable voices of his generation, Haggard was also one of country’s most prolific hitmakers and composers, writing more than three quarters of the hundred plus songs he placed on Billboard’s Country charts between 1962 and 1990, as well as numerous album tracks.
Hag’s songs quickly found an audience among his country peers. They also spoke to artists active in other genres, and particularly to the generation of rock musicians who fell under their spell in the late 60s and early 70s and who played them live and/or recorded them frequently.
The latest entry in Ace’s ‘Songwriter Series’, “Holding Things Together” offers a broad cross-section of premium Hag copyrights, as reinterpreted by artists as diverse as Gram Parsons (in various guises), Bettye Swann, Lynyrd Skynyrd, the Grateful Dead and legendary ‘Singing Cowboy’ Roy Rogers, to name but a few.
Most of the featured songs are famous enough to be recognised by their titles and are rightly considered to be country music classics but as ever, we have unearthed a few lesser known killers – some of which are appearing on CD for the first time. Memorable, frequently moving and always magnificent, they confirm this iconic artist’s credentials as one of the greatest songwriters of all time, in any genre of music.

1. Swinging Doors - Jerry Lee Lewis
2. Okie from Muskogee - Roy Rogers
3. Irma Jackson - Barrence Whitfield
4. Just Because You Can't Be Mine - Bettye Swann
5. Silver Wings - the Knitters
6. The Legend of Bonnie and Clyde - Tammy Wynette
7. White Line Fever - the Flying Burrito Brothers
8. Kern River - Dave Alvin
9. Honky Tonk Night Time Man - Lynyrd Skynyrd
10. Life in Prison - the Byrds
11. Holding Things Together - Merle Haggard
12. Everybody's Had the Blues - Brenda Lee
13. Mama Tried - the Grateful Dead
14. The Farmer's Daughter - Chip Taylor with Ghost Train
15. I Take a Lot of Pride in What I Am - Dean Martin
16. Life's Like Poetry - Dolly Parton
17. (Today) I Started Loving You Again - Wynn Stewart and the Tourists
18. Sing Me Back Home - the Everly Brothers
19. I Can't Hold Myself in Line - Elvin Bishop
20. Rainbow Stew - Country Joe McDonald
21. Living with the Shades Pulled Down - George Thorogood and the Destroyers
22. I'd Rather Be Gone - Hank Williams JR
23. I Must Be Somebody Else You've Known - International Submarine Band
24. The Bottle Let Me Down - Emmylou Harris

This product was added to our catalogue on Wednesday 24 April, 2019.


Recent and New Releases
Blues / Rhythm & Blues
Hillbilly & Country
Garage Punk->
British Rock n Roll
Doo Wop / Vocal Groups
Instrumentals & Surf
60's & 70's Rock & Pop
Punk & New Bands
Early Soul & Funk
Weird,Dumb & Creepy
Blues Calendar

Melvin Davis - Wedding Bells- Its No News - Ke Ke 45 RE
Melvin Davis - Wedding Bells- Its No News - Ke Ke 45 RE

NotificationsNotify me of updates to VA - Holding Things Together ~ The Merle Haggard Songbook - ACE

Tell someone you know about this product.