No Hit Records

My Account

0 items
All orders containing over 5 items receive FREE shipping within the UK.


Shes A Doll - Warner Bros - Feminine Side 1962-68 - CD ACE
[CD Ace]

Polished soul, pop gems and more from the female roster of 1960s Warner Bros and Loma.
“She’s A Doll!” could very easily have been the next volume in our long-running “Where The Girls Are” series, but the tracks for that are already cast in stone and due for release in the near future. Instead the decision was made to make it a stand-alone release, and who knows, possibly the first in a whole new series of label-centric girl-pop compilations.
Packaged with a 24-page booklet featuring a 4,000-word track commentary and rare full-page photos of many of the artists, the collection opens with ‘Contact’ by the Three Degrees, a slice of cool Philly soul, with a little space age psychedelia on the side, issued as the glamorous trio’s one-off single for Warner Bros in 1968, and closes with Lorraine Ellison’s ‘In My Tomorrow’ from the same year, one of the many fine records she made under the auspices of producer Jerry Ragovoy.
The remaining 22 tracks were recorded between 1962 and 1967 and include hand-picked gems from familiar artists such as Connie Stevens, Joanie Sommers and Cathy Carroll alongside hard-to-find selections from Barbara Jackson, the Royalettes, the Socialites, Cathy Carroll, the Cinders, Barbara English, Joyce Alexander and many others.
Pride of place goes to Ramona King’s version of Barry Mann & Cynthia Weil’s ‘Chico’s Girl’. San Francisco-based Ramona is best known for the singles she released on Lee Hazlewood’s Eden label in 1962-63 and on Warner Bros in 1964-65. Her Eden recordings were made under the supervision of Jack Nitzsche, Phil Spector’s right-hand man, while her Warner Bros 45s were overseen by another of Spector’s team, Jerry Riopelle, who produced her version of ‘Chico’s Girl’. The song is most commonly associated with the Girls, whose 1966 rendition became a favourite of collectors, but it dates back to 1962, when Spector himself cut a never-completed version with the Crystals. Ramona’s recording is released here for the first time ever.

01 Contact - The Three Degrees
02 Wounded - The Cookies
03 We Can Find That Love - Vickie Baines
04 He's Good - Barbara Jackson
05 We Need To Be Loved - The Teen Turbans
06 Bright Lights - Delilah Kennebruew
07 Chico's Girl - Ramona King
08 There He Goes - The Royalettes
09 The Reason Why - The Dolls
10 Jive Jimmy - The Socialites
11 My Love Keeps Growin' - Bonnie
12 There Goes Your Guy - Connie Stevens
13 Big Man - Joanie Sommers
14 He's A Doll - The Honeys
15 But You Lied - Cathy Carroll
16 Playboy - Sugar N' Spice
17 C'mon Wobble - The Cinders
18 Oh Eddy, My Baby - Brenda Hall
19 All Because I Love Somebody - Barbara English
20 I Taught Him (Pt 1) - Gloria Scott & The Tonettes
21 My Soul Concerto - The Apollas
22 Here I Come - Joyce Alexander
23 Don't Come A'Knockin' - Mary Lee Whitney
24 In My Tomorrow - Lorraine Ellison

This product was added to our catalogue on Sunday 28 October, 2018.


Recent and New Releases
Blues / Rhythm & Blues
Hillbilly & Country
Garage Punk->
British Rock n Roll
Doo Wop / Vocal Groups
Instrumentals & Surf
60's & 70's Rock & Pop
Punk & New Bands
Early Soul & Funk
Weird,Dumb & Creepy
Blues Calendar

The Ragtones - Between Lands EP - Sleazy Records
The Ragtones - Between Lands EP - Sleazy Records

NotificationsNotify me of updates to Shes A Doll - Warner Bros - Feminine Side 1962-68 - CD ACE

Tell someone you know about this product.