No Hit Records

My Account

0 items
All orders containing over 5 items receive FREE shipping within the UK.


The Platters – Rock (A little bit) - Bear Family CD

The Platters - Rock - Bear Family CD

The Platters are the most popular vocal group in music history on the circuit of Doo-Wop, Ballads and Rock'n'Roll!
Instead of their classic ballads 'Only You' and 'The Great Pretender' we've included their rockin' and jivin' tunes such as 'Bark, Battle And Ball'and 'Hula Hop'!
Contains the complete uptempo material recorded for Mercury Records.
New mastering of the most rockin' tracks by The Platters, 1955-1962.
Also contains many dance versions of such standards as 'On A Slow Boat To China', 'Sixteen Tons' and Cole Porter's 'In The Still Of The Night'.
Tony Williams (tenor vocal), David Lynch (tenor vocal), Zola Taylor (female vocal), Paul Robi (baritone vocal), and Herb Reed (bass vocal) – The Platters!
30 tracks and a 36 page booklet in a digipack with liner notes by Bill Dahl!
''During the mid-to-late 1950s, the ultra-polished vocal group was the epitome of cool, velvet-smooth harmonizing as they cranked out an avalanche of smash ballads under the supervision of manager Buck Ram. Filmmakers cast them as the relatively safe and sedate antidote to the otherwise steamy sounds dished up in the memorable films ‘Rock Around the Clock,’ ‘The Girl Can’t Help It,’ ‘Rock All Night,’ ‘Carnival Rock,’ and ‘Girls Town,’ their segments allowing overheated teenagers a chance to cool down a bit in their sweaty theater seats.
Yet a close examination of their mammoth catalog for Chicago’s Mercury Records reveals a surprising number of up-tempo gems that entirely legitimize the concept of this collection. You may not recognize all of the titles at first glance, but taken as a whole they confirm that The Platters could indeed rock whenever Ram allowed them to.
They’d started out as an R&B vocal group before magnificently crossing over to the pop realm.“ (Bill Dahl) The Platters proove it on 30 jivin' and rockin' uptempo dancehall fillers that they never forgot their jumping R&B roots! Bark, Battle And Ball!
1: Bark, Battle And Ball
2: I Don't Know Why
3: In The Middle Of Nowhere
4: By The River Sainte Marie
5: Sixteen Tons
6: Don't Let Go
7: Love, Your Magic Spell Is Everywhere
8: He's Mine
9: Lie Low
10: In A Little Spanish Town
11: Hula Hop
12: Let's Fall In Love
13: On A Slowboat To China
14: I Wanna
15: A Tisket, A Tasket
16: It Isn't Right
17: I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter
18: Out Of My Mind
19: Advertise It
20: Movin' In
21: Heartbreak
22: Love Me Or Leave Me
23: My Heart Belongs To Daddy
24: Winner Take All
25: You Don't Say
26: Roses Of Picardy
27: True Lover
28: When You Wore A Tulip (& I Wore A Big Red Rose)
29: Darktown Strutter's Ball
30: In The Still Of The Night

This product was added to our catalogue on Monday 05 June, 2017.


Recent and New Releases
Blues / Rhythm & Blues
Hillbilly & Country
Garage Punk->
British Rock n Roll
Doo Wop / Vocal Groups
Instrumentals & Surf
60's & 70's Rock & Pop
Punk & New Bands
Early Soul & Funk
Weird,Dumb & Creepy
Blues Calendar

The Puffs - I Only Cry Once A Day Now - Kent Soul 45
The Puffs - I Only Cry Once A Day Now - Kent Soul 45

NotificationsNotify me of updates to The Platters – Rock (A little bit) - Bear Family CD

Tell someone you know about this product.