No Hit Records

My Account

0 items
All orders containing over 5 items receive FREE shipping within the UK.


Powder - Ka-Pow - An Explosive Collection 1967-68- Big Beat - AC
[Powder cd]

Powder - Ka-Pow - An Explosive Collection 1967-68- Big Beat - ACE CD
America's 1960s love affair with British rock was probably never articulated better than by the original group known as Powder. Equal parts incisive melody and violent chording, and dripping pop-art flash, the dynamic 1968 recordings by this power trio from the San Francisco Peninsula have an acquired a cult notoriety since they were first uncovered two decades ago. Now with Big Beat's deluxe Ka-Pow! An Explosive Collection 1967-68 , this remarkable material has been given a further, fully re-mastered, lease of life. Brit-besotted brothers Rich and Tom Martin had been playing surf and garage rock in their native San Mateo since the start of the decade. Joining forces with visiting Kiwi pop star Ray Columbus in 1967, they formed the Art Collection. Later, spotted by Sonny & Cher in a Hollywood nightclub, the group was hired as accompanists for the duo's spring 1968 tour. Now a trio and renamed Powder (as in gunpowder), the act taped an album's worth of original and highly memorable mod-rock at Gold Star in the autumn. The LP never came out, and the Martins eventually emerged on their own as Thomas & Richard Frost, scoring a minor hit in 1969 with the sunshine-pop staple She's Got Love . The earlier Powder and Art Collection material is in a powerful, feedback-strewn mode, drawing upon groups like Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich and the Smoke as much as the Who and Small Faces to influence their style. Powerpop and freakbeat nuggets Turn Another Page, Gladly and Magical Jack indicate what an unusual and accomplished group Powder was. The sonic upgrade on Ka-Pow! An Explosive Collection 1967-68 ensures the powerful, feedback-strewn sound of Powder comes to life. Several previously unissued bonus tracks include Columbus and the Art Collection's punk classic Kick Me. The package features lengthy liner notes by Alec Palao and many previously unseen photos and images. With the band touring again, this vintage anthology Ka-Pow! is a perfect introduction to or reminder of the magic of Powder.

1. Turn Another Page (Version 1)
2. Gladly
3. Do I Love You (Version 1)
4. Magical Jack
5. I Try
6. Ruby Red Lips (Alternate Mix)
7. Grimbley Leitch
8. What The People Said
9. Rodeo
10. Flowers
11. Hate To See Her Go
12. Let's Look At The Moon
13. Too Many Miles
14. Kick Me - Ray Columbus & The Art Collection
15. Snap Crackle & Pop - Ray Columbus & The Art Collection
16. Millicent - The Art Collection
17. I Go To School - The Art Collection
18. I'm A Boy & You're A Girl - The Art Collection
19. So Sad About Us - The Art Collection
20. She's My Girl - The Art Collection
21. Medley: What The World Needs Now-Tired Of Waiting For You - The Art Collection
22. Morning - The Art Collection
23. Turn Another Page (Version 2)
24. Grimbley Leitch (Alternate Vocal)
25. Do I Love You (Version 2)
26. Kick Me (Alternate Version) - Ray Columbus & The Art Collection

Check out a video of a bloke having a look at the cd

This product was added to our catalogue on Tuesday 02 December, 2014.


Recent and New Releases
Blues / Rhythm & Blues
Hillbilly & Country
Garage Punk->
  60's Garage Punk - Individual Ar
  60'sGarage Punk Comps
  Modern Garage Punk
British Rock n Roll
Doo Wop / Vocal Groups
Instrumentals & Surf
60's & 70's Rock & Pop
Punk & New Bands
Early Soul & Funk
Weird,Dumb & Creepy
Blues Calendar

Kama Del Sutra - She Taught Me Love - ZIG ZAG 45 RE
Kama Del Sutra - She Taught Me Love - ZIG ZAG 45 RE

NotificationsNotify me of updates to Powder - Ka-Pow - An Explosive Collection 1967-68- Big Beat - AC

Tell someone you know about this product.