No Hit Records

My Account

1 x Charlie Rich - I Aint Gonna Be That Way - The Complete Smash Ses
1 x Come Spy With Us - Various Artists - CD ACE
1 x Dan Penn - Fame Recordings - Ace cd
1 x Dee Dee Sharp- Its Mashed Potato Time - Do The Bird- ACE CD
1 x Country Joe & the Fish - I Feel Like Im Fixin To Die - Vanguard/
1 x Clear Light - Clear Light - Big Beat - ACE CD
1 x I Put The Bomp - CD Comp
1 x Deke Dickerson & The Trashmen - Bringing Back The Trash CD
You have qualified for free UK shipping.


Ben E King and The Drifters First Taste Of Love Cd
[GVC 1010]


Also featuring The Crowns and Lavern Baker

Although Ben E. King's name is wholly synonymous with that of The Drifters, the reality is that he only actually sang on a dozen Drifters tracks - indeed, he'd effectively left the group after their first hit together. Ben E. King would, of course, go on to enjoy a massive career - as, indeed, would The Drifters - and both are still active to this day. But the body of work he recorded during 1959/60 was truly exceptional, and included many of his own and The Drifters' respective career benchmark recordings. ‘First Taste Of Love'/‘Spanish Harlem' was released in December 1960 and initially it was the former which took off (as, indeed, it had been custom-written to do). However, one or two deejays soon began playing the flip, whereupon ‘Spanish Harlem' took over, eventually reaching No.10 Pop, No.15 R&B, giving Ben his first hit and winning him a gold record. In the UK, ‘First Taste' made the Top 30 .

Track listing:
1. THE CROWNS - Kiss And Make Up
2. I'll Forget About You
3. DRIFTERS - There Goes My Baby
4. Oh My Love
5. Dance With Me
6. (If You Cry) True Love, True Love
7. This Magic Moment
8. Baltimore
9. Lonely Winds
10. Hey Senorita
11. BEN E. KING - Brace Yourself
12. Show Me The Way
13. BEN E. KING & LAVERN BAKER - A Help-Each-Other Romance
14. How Often
15. DRIFTERS - Save The Last Dance For Me
16. Nobody But Me
17. I Count The Tears
18. BEN E. KING - First Taste Of Love
19. Spanish Harlem
20. Young Boy Blues
21. DRIFTERS - Sometimes I Wonder
22. BEN E. KING - I Promise Love

23. DRIFTERS - Lonely Winds (alt take)
24. BEN E. KING - First Taste Of Love (single edit)

This product was added to our catalogue on Friday 04 February, 2011.


Recent and New Releases
Blues / Rhythm & Blues
Hillbilly & Country
Garage Punk->
British Rock n Roll
Doo Wop / Vocal Groups
Instrumentals & Surf
60's & 70's Rock & Pop
Punk & New Bands
Early Soul & Funk
Weird,Dumb & Creepy
Blues Calendar

Jackie Brenston - Gonna Wait For My Chance - Federal 45 RE
Jackie Brenston - Gonna Wait For My Chance - Federal 45 RE

NotificationsNotify me of updates to Ben E King and The Drifters First Taste Of Love Cd

Tell someone you know about this product.