No Hit Records

My Account

0 items
All orders containing over 5 items receive FREE shipping within the UK.


Various - Mod Jazz and Then Some - Ace-Kent CD
[Mod Jazz & t]

Various - Mod Jazz And Then Some! - Ace-Kent CD

The latest edition of the sharpest compilation in the racks. Ady Croasdell and Dean Rudland dig out 24 jazz, bluesy, latino grooves, which are destined for or have already achieved greatness. The latest volume digs deep into the archives of black America, to come up with tracks from obscure 45s or were hidden on LPs by labels big and small. Kent have in-demand 45s by Reuben Wilson and Billy Larkin on Flodavieur and Frenchy and The Chessmen's rare Dave Hamilton productions. Kent have revisited the ultimate mod jazz label, Prestige, and dug out tunes that are now earning their collectable stripes. From the sanctified organ groove of Shirley Scott's Sister Sadie, to Etta Jones sublime version of Nature Boy, a big record on the popcorn-influenced European scene and highly collectable. Old favourites such as Googie Rene and Hank Jacobs (as part of the TKO s) return to bring more of their immaculate grooves and perhaps best of all is the Nightbeats previously unreleased Leavin Town. It could have been recorded specifically with Mod Jazz in mind..

1. Saturday Night Stomp (Inst) - Eddie Blues Man Kirkland
2. Nature Boy - Etta Jones
3. Sister Sadie - Shirley Scott
4. Comin Home Baby - Eric Kloss
5. Bucket Full Of Soul - Trudy Pitts
6. Free For All - King Curtis
7. The Chiller (A Very Short Story) - Googie Rene
8. Troubles - Bobby Jenkins& His Quartet
9. That s A Lie - Billy Larkin
10. Cooking In Grease - Reuben Wilson
11. Hen House - Paul & Rick
12. Congo Buggie - Freddy Washington s Band
13. Leavin Town - Nightbeats
14. Dig In - Pac Keys
15. Watermelon Walk - Five Counts
16. Poontwangie Aka Three O clock Stomp B. B. King
17. Chili With Honey - Danny Bell & The Bell Hops
18. Fat Man - TKOs
19. Sorry Bout That - Chuck Higgins
20. In The Dark - Dave Hamilton
21. El Tacos - Frenchy & The Chessmen
22. Another Child Lost - Floyd White
23. You Were Wrong - Miles Grayson
24. Hard Working Girl - Clarence Daniels & Obie Jessie

This product was added to our catalogue on Tuesday 03 June, 2014.


Recent and New Releases
Blues / Rhythm & Blues
Hillbilly & Country
Garage Punk->
British Rock n Roll
Doo Wop / Vocal Groups
Instrumentals & Surf
60's & 70's Rock & Pop
Punk & New Bands
Early Soul & Funk
Weird,Dumb & Creepy
Blues Calendar

Delta Bombers - Pressure And Time - Wild Records
Delta Bombers - Pressure And Time - Wild Records

NotificationsNotify me of updates to Various - Mod Jazz and Then Some - Ace-Kent CD

Tell someone you know about this product.