No Hit Records

My Account

0 items
All orders containing over 5 items receive FREE shipping within the UK.


Charlie Phillips - Sugartime Bear Family Cd
[BCD 16840 AR]


Bear Family

His song 'Sugartime' is one of the most-covered and biggest selling songs of the 20th century. An untold slice of Tex-Mex musical history...Charlie was one of Buddy Holly's contemporaries. All of Charlie Phillips' originally issued songs to 1967 plus the best of his later songs and 9 previously unissued songs! Backing musicians include Buddy Holly, Jerry Allison, Glen Campbell, Al Casey and the cream of Nashville's session men. Many unpublished photos. -- With his 4-octave range, Charlie Phillips is one of the most soulful and accomplished singers to emerge from West Texas. His first professional session (with Buddy Holly on guitar) generated 'Sugartime' ... one of the most covered songs of the century. The follow-up, 'Be My Bride', made its CD debut on 'That'll Flat Git It,' Volume 9 (Bear Family, BCD 15971) and is the only track in this package to have had prior European release. That's how rare this stuff is! -- Bonus tracks We have them. There's the original previously unissued demos of 'Sugartime' (1956) and the rockabilly classic 'Faker' (1958). A studio master of 'You're My LSD' which needs to be heard to be believed. Plus a concert medley of 'Whole Lotta Shakin' / Johnny Be Goode / The Twist / Rock Around The Clock / Sugartime' backed by several members of the Texas Playboys shows a side of Charlie not heard in any of his other recordings. -- Charlie collaborated with John Ingman on a comprehensive biography for this set. 1-CD Digipak with 72-page booklet, 35 tracks.

Track listing:

1. I'm Trapped
2. The Bridge I Can't Burn
3. Souvenirs Of Sorrow
4. Be Careful, Go Easy, Walk Slow
5. Sugartime
6. Be My Bride
7. Too Many Tears
8. Faker
9. One Faded Rose
10. No More Sugartime
11. Welcome To The Wedding
12. Guess I'll Never Learn
13. Now That It's Over
14. No One To Love
15. 'Till Sunday
16. Cancel The Call
17. You're Moving Away
18. Later Tonight
19. This Is The House
20. Please Help Me Believe
21. The Streets Of Loneliness
22. Big Ball 's In Cowtown
23. Rainbow In The Valley
24. Twenty Fools Ago
25. Blue Blue Bottle
26. Who Are You
27. I Walk Alone Tomorrow
28. Hurry Up Sundown
29. Iím Giving Her Love
30. I'll Take What's Left Of You
31. Listen (Could It Be Her)
32. Phoney Angel
33. You're My LSD
34. R&R Medley
35. Sugartime (demo)

This product was added to our catalogue on Friday 04 February, 2011.


Recent and New Releases
Blues / Rhythm & Blues
Hillbilly & Country
Garage Punk->
British Rock n Roll
Doo Wop / Vocal Groups
Instrumentals & Surf
60's & 70's Rock & Pop
Punk & New Bands
Early Soul & Funk
Weird,Dumb & Creepy
Blues Calendar

WAVY GRAVY for adult enthusiasts- Beware001 lp
WAVY GRAVY for adult enthusiasts- Beware001 lp

NotificationsNotify me of updates to Charlie Phillips - Sugartime Bear Family Cd

Tell someone you know about this product.